By Binta Diallo

Binta is one of AIDemocracy’s 2010-2011 Issue Analysts. Find out more about Binta below or take a look at the  Student Issue Analysts.

Nine months ago, Haiti was struck by a 7.0-magnitude earthquake affecting as many as 3 million people.  Immediately, aid organizations and governments from around the world responded to this disaster by providing medical attention, food, shelter, and safe drinking water.  There was such an enormous effort in helping the country; immediate support and help coming from students and young adults from around the world.

After the earthquake hit, I started to come up with fundraiser ideas for the student body once I returned back to school.  About two days after everyone returned from winter break, my inbox was flooded by students proposing service and fundraiser ideas.  Food drives, dance-a-thons, bake sales, concerts, anything you name it was sitting in my inbox waiting to be read and executed!  I was excited to see that my fellow peers were ready to get involved. 

Okay, so many of you may be wondering what does this have to do with global health?  With every natural disaster, there are many health issues that arise.  In the case of Haiti, plenty of health issues arose such as concern for safe drinking water, malnutrition, infection and disease.  Although, it was almost impossible to physically go to Haiti to help with the efforts, students around the nation and world participated in various ways.  They worked with international organizations, their schools, their communities; all in hopes to make sure that they were doing as much as possible.  Without the efforts and help for the youth, students, young adults, there would have been a much different turn out. 

I am going to leave you with a quote by Mahatma Gandhi “Be the change you want to see in the world.”  Until next time, think about how you can change the world, you have the power!

My name is Binta Diallo and I am a St. Mary’s College of Maryland 2010 alum.  I majored in Studies of Developing Countries and International Public Policy!  I am looking to go to medical school within the next few years and then work as a physician in developing countries.  Global health is one of my biggest passions, it is absolutely fascinating and by increasing the involvement of students around the country and world huge differences will happen!

